A glimpse of Heaven through Hell

I have been awake for a couple of hours, I have been listening to the news. I have listened to the news a lot the last few days, probably more than I should have.

Nothing effects our deepest feelings like children. This last few days has broken my heart. It has made me angry to a degree that I haven’t felt many times in my life. It has forced me to rely on faith. It has forced me to defend my basic right as an American in the face of total and complete horror.

I just need to write about this. I am leaving my political opinions at the door. It doesn’t matter how or why at this point, there is nothing that we can do now or in the future to bring back those babies or to give the survivors back their sweet innocence.

I think of my grandson, he isn’t as old as those that were killed. He will soon be 2 and he is the light of my life. He is sweet and innocent, he has no clue that the world is anything but snuggles and laughs, cars and cookies. His main issues are food, juice and the backyardigans, and not even in that order! I just want to hold him and shield him from all the evil in the world.

It is easy to focus on the evil act, but you know what, the more time that passes the more personal stories we hear about acts of LOVE and of GOODNESS. They TRUMPED the evil! People protecting each other. Comforting each other. The man that came home and found little kids in his driveway crying… they had escaped and run there, he took them in, calmed them down, feed them and called their parents. The teacher that died with one of those babies in her arms. The teacher that locked herself and kids in a bathroom, the one that locked themselves in a closet. The principal that died trying to prevent the whole thing. It is easy to focus on the bad… and there IS a lot of it. I think we are better served to to talk about the stranger that bought and set up 26 Christmas trees… anonymously. Those people that are setting out to do a random act of kindness in remembrance of each of those killed.

I think about how it was after 9/11 and it was the same…. love and kindness and caring. So why does it take something so evil to make us stop and LOOK! Why do we wait to show someone the good. Why?! We are quick to send a card when someone dies, or take a dish of food to a funeral. Why don’t we take food to the people just because… because we value them? Why don’t we ever take a minute and just say … you know what… you make my world a nicer place, or … I don’t know you that well, but I would like to buy your coffee this morning.

We see Hell on earth most days anymore, but sometimes, sometimes like a rainbow after a flood, we also get to see a tiny peek a Heaven too.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

