Is ignorance really bliss?

My natural tendency is to be on top of things…. news especially, but in other areas as well.

I believe we are influenced by the things or people that we are around. This can be good or bad really.

I have been angry a lot in the last 10 months about things I can not change. I immersed myself in news and if it happened I knew about it. Now that in and of itself isn’t a bad thing but the frustration of not being able to change it is just very destructive to me. I become someone who I don’t want to be, and that is born out of not trusting that God is still running the show.

I can’t talk to one friend and be happy and in a good mood… I talked to favorite friend this morning and it made me happy. I have also talked to others that just bring me down to the ground. I can read comments on statuses and that totally make me angry and I jump in and well the whole day is shot.

I have learned it is just better for me not to do to certain places or be around certain things…. they affect my mood and I don’t want that. I also know that if I seek out the people and places that make me happy that also affects my mood.

I have stated that the government in general relies on us not paying attention to what they are doing, so that they can do whatever they wish. I STILL believe that… mass ignorance is a scary thing. However, all I can do is vote to change it and so I can not live worked up day after day. I still pay attention to the news, but not to the same degree.

I am happier. I know that this world is not my home and I am not the one in charge. So I am more ignorant of the lesser known news.

I recently found out something about a friend that surprised me. It has altered my …. I don’t know.  It changes how I see them. I will not change the relationship, I still love them. However, I wish I didn’t know now what I do.

We do not know when we will die, and I think if we did we would live differently and I think it is a gift that we do not know… that we are ignorant of it.

So the question was…. Is ignorance bliss. I think that yes it is, in many areas. I don’t need to know everything and that is a big step for me, I am a researcher at heart. I am not saying that you should live in denial, of course not. I also think you do have some responsibility as a voting citizen to know what is going on…. but you know…. The basics are enough.

just my thoughts the last few days….

Leave a Reply

