Forgiveness for the 1,453,525,533,85th time

Those of you that know me, and have for any length of time know that I struggle with the concept of forgiveness…. both in the giving and receiving. I have studied the Bible so much on this topic. I honestly am not even sure that true forgiveness from me to another human is possible… in that I always remember how much they hurt me and I take that pain out and play with it awhile and I am back where I started.

The Bible is very very clearly that it is expected of us.

I wish that we would forgive like God… As far as the east is from the west, he has removed our transgressions from us. Ps. 103.12 And… For I will forgive forever their wickedness and remember their sin no more. Heb 8:12

Then Jesus was asked how many times we have to forgive others…Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times. Matthew 18:22

God wants to forgive us… and all we have to do is ask… there is nothing that we can do to earn it. We can’t buy it. We have to humble ourselves before God and ask.

So is that it?

There are verses that say that while He will repeatedly forgive us, He gives other instructions as well. It isn’t that His forgiveness is contingent upon us but He gives us instructions.

The bottom line that I have been trying to get to is this… People will be living in a sinful situation and think that all that they have to do is ask forgiveness and all is ok and they can just keep living that way… forgiveness maybe free to US but it was so so not free!

We think that God has no anger or that there is no end to his patience but that would be a bad mistake… Just think about the flood…. or Sodom and Gonorrhea. Look at what is rapidly coming at us … the judgement.

I am here to tell you that God has no problem removing you from a situation that clouds your relationship with Him! He is way more interested in your eternity that whether you are happy here. He can make you and He can break you… if it make you lean on Him! Don’t believe me? Go read the book of Job then come back and tell me that again.

The Bible talks about how confronting a sinful behavior …. You take the Word and you make it clear that GOD says a behavior is wrong. It doesn’t matter your personal opinion it is all down to God’s law.

No one wants to be told they aren’t living right! You will hear DON’T JUDGE ME LEST YOU BE JUDGED! Matthew 7:1 and yes that is true, However, if it is written in God’s word are you really judging or simply pointing out that God says this or that is wrong. It is amazing really that people who have never cracked open the Bible and can certainly never tell you were it is found can quote it.

Side note…. did you know that even Satan can quote the Bible…. especially to his benefit.

The trouble is that no one wants to remember this …. especially the last line….

So when they continued asking Him, He raised Himself up[g] and said to them, “He who is without sin among you, let him throw a stone at her first.” And again He stooped down and wrote on the ground. Then those who heard it, being convicted by their conscience,[h] went out one by one, beginning with the oldest even to the last. And Jesus was left alone, and the woman standing in the midst. 10 When Jesus had raised Himself up and saw no one but the woman, He said to her,[i] “Woman, where are those accusers of yours?[j] Has no one condemned you?”

11 She said, “No one, Lord.”

And Jesus said to her, “Neither do I condemn you; go and[k] sin no more.”

John 8 :7-11

It is pretty clear that He wants her to STOP the behavior……

I guess I really have nothing else to say… I will be thinking on this a lot…

Leave a Reply

