Change of thought

So yesterday I was talking to both Bill and also to a sweet Christian friend about Romans 7 and how we are born with a sinful nature and how when we are saved we receive the Holy Spirit. These two halves will fight each other for as long as we live in the present form. Paul, who wrote Romans, talks about how he wants to be good but that he is unable and how the things he despises are the things he does.

The more time we spend with God the easier it is to say no to the evil and the less time we spend it is easier to do bad things without guilt.

The Bible makes it very clear that there is no way we can earn our Salvation. Period. It also is clear that the things that we do to try to be good in his sight do not impress him. Only the things done in us through Christ matter.

When you are a Christian and in fellowship with God, your life should show it. It bears fruit as the Bible says. The fruits of the Spirit are: love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, and temperance. So, the more time you spend with Christ, the more these things should be a part of who you are.

Now to the point… I have blogged the last two times about how I feel that I am eating because I feel vulnerable and need protection…. It all centered on how *IIIIII* was going to do that which I see as good! I have been warring with myself. In fact I been since I was a little girl. I am saying that in order to be stronger and be able to say no to a destructive behavior I need help. That helps come from God. If I ask Him and I LET Him, he will help heal the hurts that are at the root of this.

It is so like us…. we think we are so in control. We think it is all about us and what we can and must do! We think we can do it all by ourselves thank you very much.

I want those Fruits of the spirit to show in my life. I want my tree to bear more fruit. I am tired of the sinful, human part of me winning more than it should… in order for that to stop I need to let Him work on me. After all He IS the Great Physician!

 

 

Leave a Reply

